First time use
Permissions are required to use certain parts of the App. Permission is only asked for when the respective component is used.
If a ticket is scanned with the camera to add a track to the tracks overview, it is necessary to give permission to the App to use the camera when the App is in use.
As soon as a map of the track is shown or live recording is turned on, permission is needed for the App to use location data. This is done in two steps. First, permission must be given to use location data when the App is in use and, as a final step, permission must be given to use it all the time. This is show as
Allow all the time(Android). So even when the App is closed or running in the background, location data will be used.
- Motion & Fitness / Physical activity
This permission is requested at the same time as the location permission. The App samples the accelerometer periodically while tracking in order to power-down the GPS as soon as the device is determined to be stationary, while stopped for a break, for example.
- Files and media
If a track is added to the tracks overview by scanning a PDF containing the etickets, permission is required.
- Background App Refresh (IOS only)
This permission is requested at the same time as the location permission. This is necessary in order for the App to continue to operate in the background.
Periodically, both IOS and Android will show reminders that the App can always request location data and if the App is not used for a long time, this permission will be withdrawn.
So if the App has not been used for a long time and it is restarted again, make sure that the location permission is set to
Always for IOS or
Allow all the time for Android.